Free Member
Nov 22, 2011
kent
Funster No
MH
minibus conversion
Exp
I'm a newbie
I have only just bought my minibus ready to convert for next year I got it cheap from a school run firm in London because they needed to be rid before Januarys LEZ introduction.I've been searching Ebay for parts and noticed hundreds of really cheap partially finished or just plain old motorhomes for sale in London. I can only asume these are going to get cheaper as the LEZ gets closer when the poor owners realise that the cost is going to be 100 quid a day to keep them there.
Obviously this is a terible situation for all the London motorhomers who have been blyted by this incredibaly stupid new ruling, but as they say every cloud has a silver lining and this could be a great oportunity for someone who like me has no desire or need to enter London during their free time. The M25 has finally justified its existence LONG LIVE THE M25 AND MAY GOD PROTECT THE DARTFORD CROSSING:winky:

Nov 30, 2009
Pickering
Funster No
MH
PVC the PUG
Exp
Since 2009 with motorhomes several caravans then tents before that.
Is it just London where they are bringing this law to ? Or could it be spread to all cities ?
Also how old is old ? Does it include old classic cars etc.
Not that im wanting one , i'm just not up on the new law.
Bev

OP
OP
P

paul8ch

Free Member
Nov 22, 2011
kent
Funster No
MH
minibus conversion
Exp
I'm a newbie
at the moment it is anything with a gross weight of over 2750kg(I think) and the cut off point for minibus and vans is older than 2002.Hgv pre 2005 need to have a cat fitted at 5 grand to enter london without charge.Charge for a 3.5 tonne van is 100 per day (or part) and for 7.5 tonne up is 200. As if the situation wasn't bad enough thousands of small transport businesses will be going to the wall in the next few month's all in the name of "The Environment".Why doesn't Boris just admit It's just another stealth tax?.