Advice please; Hymer dump valve problem (1 Viewer)

offwego

Free Member
May 13, 2011
France
Funster No
MH
Hymer T656
Exp
I am a newbie
Hi all,
Hoping that some of you experienced funsters can help with a fresh water dump valve fault.
In May this year, I purchased a Hymer T656, which was first registered in November 2007. In preparation for a winter lay-up, I attempted to drain down the fresh water tank only to find that the dump valve was seized. As I live in a hard water area of France, I believe that a build up of calcium carbonate around the valve(inside the tank) has caused the seizure. I think that the previous owner must have had difficulty in opening the valve since the square brass shaft (on which the operating wheel sits) has been damaged.This is shown in pic 001.
I have managed to expel most of the water by opening the sink and wash basin taps and letting the pump do the rest.
I believe that this model of motorhome was not sold in the UK, but I am sure that Hymer vans imported into the UK (circa 2007,2008) would have had a similar if not an identical fresh water system fitted.
My questions are as follows:-

a) Would it be worth trying to free up the dump valve with a solution of vinegar and water and/or gentle tapping? I ask myself the question, if this is what has happenend to the valve in what state is the pump, although at the moment it appears to be working fine.

b) Is the complete dump valve assembly a replaceable item ? There is some access to the shaft inside the tank, which may just be visible in pic 004. I have not been under the van to see what part of the mechanism is visible from there.

Most grateful for any advice or your experience of this problem.

kind regards,
offwego

Attachments

• dump_valve001.jpg
    dump_valve001.jpg
    86.8 KB · Views: 49
  • dump_valve004.jpg
    dump_valve004.jpg
    83.4 KB · Views: 43

philk

Free Member
Jul 21, 2011
Lancs
Funster No
MH
A Class
Exp
since 2000
dump valve

hi offwego,