Valliant 125 heater will not light (1 Viewer)

nsr500rossi

Free Member
Sep 22, 2011
United Kingdom
Funster No
MH
renault
Exp
im a newbie
Hi

Just got my first camper van, an old renault auto sleeper

I am working through all the things that need to be fixed, i have sorted the fridge and heater but am having trouble getting the boiler to fire up ..

It is a valiant mag 125/7

I have the pilot light working and have changed the diaphragm and top housing so it is now leak free.

But the boiler will not fire ..

I have the water pressure working

i have tried removing the water section and manually operated the rod that opens the gas whilst the pilot light is on, but still there is no gas coming from the main jets (if thats what it is called)

Any ideas, i am a bit stuck

many thanks

Mike

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007
Dark side of the moon
Funster No
Exp
Since 2005
Hi Mike and welcome....

three possibilities spring to mind.

1) faulty thermocouple.....the copper probe which sits in the pilot light, it opens, and holds open, the main gas valve.
unlikely (but possible) its this as the pilot flame stays lit

2) blocked jet in the burner.

3) if the boiler has an electronic circuit board, that may be faulty.

none of these are really repairable as the thermocouple is sealed for life, unless you understand electronics you cant repair the circuit board and the hole in the jet may be scored or enlarged if you poke something through to clean it....but very careful probing with very thin soft wire may clean it enough to prove that is the fault before buying a new jet.

Upvote 0
OP
OP
N

nsr500rossi

Free Member
Sep 22, 2011
United Kingdom
Funster No
MH
renault
Exp
im a newbie
Hi Thanks for you reply

If it's the therm coupler, then it is not opening the main gas ..is that right? you say not likely as the pilot stays lit, well i thought if the coupler packs up it does not effect the pilot ..am i wrong

I don't think the boiler has a circuit board, it is very old.