Free Member
Aug 28, 2011
Cornwall
Funster No
MH
C Class
Exp
I'm a newbie
The van we are looking at, and this could be the one we buy, does not have seat belts in the back. It's a 1999 model and I believe that it is not compulsory for rear front facing seats to have belts pre-2001. But as we will want to take our two grandchildren with us, we don't want them to be bouncing around in the back. Does anyone know how costly or difficult it might be to have some fitted? The van has a u shaped seating area at the rear so we are thinking that we should fit a couple on the front facing long rear seat. Can anyone advise? Thank you.

darklord

Free Member
Apr 28, 2011
essex
Funster No
MH
coachbuilt
Exp
three years
There are a couple of issues here, one is securing the seatbelt anchorage to a part of the MH that future MOT testers will be happy with. Floor is out, body is out, etc etc, so in thruth, you may be looking at linking to part of the chassis.
you then have No2 problem, how to get the anchorage into the MH without allowing water ingress.
There are seats available for cars, that have the seatbelts attached to them, but the seat is then bolted to a significantly strong part of the floor or a rail, ANY slight signs or rust or weakness near this area, will cause a tester to fail the car.

We looked into this, for the same reasons, and although i am a competant enough mechanical type, with more than enough tools and welding gear etc, we decided not to bother.
We are currently ready to buy, and one of the deciding factors, is the number of seatbelkts in the rear...you will not be surprised to know how much that cuts your choice down. My favourite at the moment, is one with two dinettes, so there are three forward facing seats in the rear, two of them have belts, the thrid, I have investigated has the capacity with a lot of money and a little thought.:Doh: Good luck.

Upvote 0
OP
OP
D

Demelza

Free Member
Aug 28, 2011
Cornwall
Funster No
MH
C Class
Exp
I'm a newbie