What engine do I have.....please (1 Viewer)

angus1

Free Member
Sep 1, 2011
uk
Funster No
MH
c class
Exp
i'm a newbie
Hello all,
I am completely baffled as to what engine I have in my MH.
It is a 1999 Peugeot boxer 320 2.5 TD.
However I see that Peugeot, Fiat and Citreon are all made in the same factory and that from research so far some say it is the Iveco 8140 engine. When I put the Vin number in the Peugeot service site it comes up as a Boxer cab type 14, engine 2.5 DJ5TED, is that a Peugeot engine.
There are no makers marks on the engine block itself. I know this is the original engine...so any help would be very much appreciated as I have some problems but can't even begin till I know what engine I am looking at.
I must say it's a bit odd having to spend hours on the net trying to find out what engine your Peugeot has????

Snowbird

LIFE MEMBER
Apr 24, 2009
Liverpool.
Funster No
MH
Fifth wheel.
Exp
Since 11-05-2000
I had a similar problem with a Peugeot J5 2.5 turbo diesel.
Its synonymous with the Sevel cab am afraid. It turned out mine had 2 X cam belts and was a Citroen engine as fitted to the CX:Doh:
Only way I found out was when changing the cam belts I managed to read the original numbers. I do sympathise with you on this problem

OP
OP
A

angus1

Free Member
Sep 1, 2011
uk
Funster No
MH
c class
Exp
i'm a newbie
Snowbird,
Your sympathy is much appreciated, I thought I was going bonkers as did most of my friends, you buy a Peugeot because it is a Peugeot right??????
So unless you change the cam belt there is no way of knowing what engine it is?
Strangely my other car is a Citreon Jumpy, which has the same problem as this, made in the same factory, so could be a Fiat or a Peugeot.
Many thanks for your reply, the mystery goes on.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007
Dark side of the moon
Funster No
Exp
Since 2005
99.9% of peugeot, fiat and citroen van engine parts are interchangable anyway.