Fresh water tank advice please (1 Viewer)

offwego

Free Member
May 13, 2011
France
Funster No
MH
Hymer T656
Exp
I am a newbie
Hi all,
As a novice to this game, I would like some advice from you experienced motorhomers with regard to the fresh water tank when not touring. Is it best to completely empty the tank or fill it up adding a water purifier in the process (Inherited a bottle of Katadyn Micropur from the previous owner)
I live in SW France and it concerns me that with the high temperatures experienced recently this could lead to unwanted bacteria problems.
Look forward to your informed replies :thumb:

offwego

JeanLuc

Free Member
Nov 17, 2008
Warwickshire
Funster No
MH
Hymer B630 Star-Line
Exp
Since 2007
I work on the basis that bacteria need water. Dried meats, jams and many other foods are preserved by the removal of available water, so I follow the same logic with regards to the fresh tank. I drain down after each trip (trying to ensure I don't get home with a lot of fresh water still on board), then aim to get as much out as possible. I use my (clean) hand to sweep the residual water to the drain hole. Then I leave the inspection plug on top of the tank open but resting over its aperture to allow air in, vapour out and prevent debris falling in.
Before filling up next time, I have a 'squint' into the tank to check for debris / insects etc.; give the tank a quick swill - just half an inch, or less - then reinsert the drain bung and fill up. Sounds like a lot of work but only takes a few minutes in practice.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0

scotjimland

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 25, 2007
Suffolk Coastal District, UK
Funster No
MH
Timberland
For me it would depend on the 'not touring' time.. and also the location of the tank..

Bacteria need light .. so if the tank is in a dark locker or is painted black then for one or two weeks I wouldn't bother.. just leave it filled up then drain down and refill for the trip..