Free Member
Aug 5, 2011
Calne
Funster No
MH
just looking
Exp
im a newbie
what would be a suitable battery bank power setup to be off grid for 5/6 days with reasonable power usage,could you do it with no solar.,and just carry a small generator.

chrisgreen

Funster
Jul 26, 2009
england
Funster No
MH
c class
Exp
since 2004
what would be a suitable battery bank power setup to be off grid for 5/6 days with reasonable power usage,could you do it with no solar.,and just carry a small generator.
yes:thumb:a very small 12v genny would be ideal:thumb:

scotjimland

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 25, 2007
Funster No
MH
A Woosh bang
a frugal camper could make one 85ah battery last two weeks.. maybe more.. another would kill it in a day or two

so first, you need to define 'reasonable' One man's reasonable is another's extravagance.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

hilldweller

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 5, 2008
Macclesfield
Funster No
MH
Zilch Mk1
Exp
From Aug 2007
a frugal camper could make one 85ah battery last two weeks.. maybe more.. another would kill it in a day or two

so first, you need to define 'reasonable' One man's reasonable is another's extravagance.

Indeed we just had 4 nights at Silverstone and hardly discharged an 85Ah battery with no charging at all.

scotjimland

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 25, 2007
Funster No
MH
A Woosh bang
Indeed we just had 4 nights at Silverstone and hardly discharged an 85Ah battery with no charging at all.

Absolutely agree Brian ..

donkeys years ago as a tugger we had no leisure battery.. we ran everything off the car battery .. when I say everything ,.. just a submersible pump and a couple of fluorescent lights ..
as time went on we had a small b/w TV .. still no need of an extra battery .. a trip out in the car every few days was all that was needed to keep it topped up..