Enjoy_Yourself

Free Member
Jul 1, 2010
Pontypool, South Wales
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
At the risk of starting a debate that ends up by concluding that "its all a matter of personal preference", what do the more experienced motor-home users out there have to say about the pros and cons of these respective energy sources?

I'm no electrician so difficult for me to assess what you get for your buck with either option. Understand the basics - I think- but a bit unclear about use of inverters for providing 240v if we go down the solar panel route. Looking to have a few of the "luxury" items available when we decide to stay off EHU in aires or wild-camping closer to home.
:Doh:
All advice welcome!

S

stagman

Deleted User
At the risk of starting a debate that ends up by concluding that "its all a matter of personal preference", what do the more experienced motor-home users out there have to say about the pros and cons of these respective energy sources?

I'm no electrician so difficult for me to assess what you get for your buck with either option. Understand the basics - I think- but a bit unclear about use of inverters for providing 240v if we go down the solar panel route. Looking to have a few of the "luxury" items available when we decide to stay off EHU in aires or wild-camping closer to home.
:Doh:
All advice welcome!

Solar Panel = Quiet . Gen = Noisy . Initial cost about the same for a good quality set up .
Running cost Gen = expensive . S/P = nil . Gen = smelly . S/P = not smelly . Gen = Pollution . S/P = not .
Gen = Maintenance . S/P = nil
Gen = Fast Charge . S/P slow charge
Friends Solar Panel = Loads . Generator = Nil

Upvote 0
Feb 27, 2011
UK
Funster No
MH
Self Build
Exp
Since 2005
I have gone with both as most full timers seem to do. Wouldn't be without either of them now. 240watts solar 1Kw Genny.

Upvote 0

Bryan

Free Member
Jul 19, 2007
Funster No
Both.

Solar for keeping batteries topped up so the inverter can run TV etc.