Free Member
Jul 26, 2011
hull
Funster No
MH
c class
Exp
im a newbie
any auto electricians out there for advice on front parking sensor problem (had to extend wire seams to be to long a run?)

OP
OP
D

dennismartin

Free Member
Jul 26, 2011
hull
Funster No
MH
c class
Exp
im a newbie
with a short lead they are ok when you extend them they show up .3 away from a object

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007
Dark side of the moon
Funster No
Exp
Since 2005
are these just for the front end or are they 'tagged' into the rear ones ?

seems strange why the wires arent long enough if just used for the front end.

dave newell

Free Member
Oct 31, 2008
Telford, Shropshire
Funster No
MH
Home converted PVC
Exp
26yrs
Never extend the wiring for the actual sensors. They work by measuring time for the pulse to go from control box to sensor to object and back. If you alter th length of wire from control box to sensor you muck up all the timing.

D.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007
Dark side of the moon
Funster No
Exp
Since 2005
that explains it :thumb:

probably volt drop over such a long run.....thicker cable may help.
as with anything electrical, the longer the run the thicker the cable for the same results.

may be worth buying a second set to use independantly at the front and refit the ones you are trying to use at high level rear.

reversing onto a wooded pitch can cause some high level damage from low branchs etc

Ooops...just read Daves post above

OP
OP
D

dennismartin

Free Member
Jul 26, 2011
hull
Funster No
MH
c class
Exp
im a newbie
they did work at first it was when we extended the screen that it stopped working

darklord

Free Member
Apr 28, 2011
essex
Funster No
MH
coachbuilt
Exp
three years