Free Member
Sep 25, 2007
UK
Funster No
MH
5th Wheel
Exp
30+
OK, so furher to this thread..................
Link Removed
I've now got the panel strapped on the roof where it will stay for about a week whilst I check results BEFORE I start drilling holes in my pride & joy to fix it permanently!:winky:

Here in Cheshire this morning, it's a reasonably bright day with cloudy sunshine and 20 degrees.

My panel is a 185watt 24 volt feeding through a regulator (not MPPT) to two 110 amp (12v) batteries.

Sun behind cloud, I'm getting about 1 amp.
Full sun at 10:30am - 11:00am when it peeked through gaps in the cloud, I got a best of 5.2 amps.

Now, I must admit to being slightly disapointed with this given the size of the panel...............or am I expecting too much ?

Ta:Smile:

Loujess

Free Member
Jan 10, 2010
Leeds UK
Funster No
MH
none
Exp
Perhaps, but I'm not an expert. With our 90w solar panel, the most we've ever got, in bright sunshine, was 4.2A. ::bigsmile:

Ivy

icantremember

LIFE MEMBER
Sep 2, 2010
Near to Watton in Norfolk
Funster No
MH
Hymer T-SL668
Exp
since 2005
As the panel is not fixed yet & just as an experiment try angling it towards the sun and see what difference it makes.

Brian

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

hilldweller

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 5, 2008
Macclesfield
Funster No
MH
Zilch Mk1
Exp
From Aug 2007
I got a best of 5.2 amps.

Now, I must admit to being slightly disappointed with this given the size of the panel...............or am I expecting too much ?

Everyone expects too much. If the panel is flat and our sun is at 50(ish) degrees and SIN(50) = 0.75 you've lost a quarter before you start.

5.2 * 13 = 68W. Add that quarter back, 90W.

I don't know the standard "sun" they use but you can bet it's "cracking the flags" sun. Not Cheshire sun.

What voltage on the battery when it hit 5.2A ?

You bought it so it looks like you reckon it's tough enough.

JJ

Mágica
May 1, 2008
Quinta Majay, Pinheiro Bordalo, Portugal
Funster No
MH