Free Member
Mar 13, 2011
London
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
I'm a newbie
I have a 1998 Elddis Autostratus EK SK. Peugot Boxer 1998cc petrol engine. I've just taken it on a good length trip for the first time, about 600 miles, and according to the app on my phone the MPG is around 15 traveling at a steady 50 MPH.

This seems quite bad to me, and much lower than what the previous owner claimed. Its 3200 kg and reading around some posts on here it seems like I should be getting more like 25-30....

Should I be worried?

OP
OP
streetdaddy

streetdaddy

Free Member
Mar 13, 2011
London
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
I'm a newbie
I did some calculations myself using litres and UK gallons:

4.1 miles per litre
18.6 miles per gallon

What sort of mechanical problem might this point to? I had it mechanically inspected before I bought it... :cry:

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Last edited:

Heyupluv

Free Member
Oct 7, 2008
France,
Funster No
MH
A Class
Exp
touring many years..42+

4.1 miles per litre
18.6 miles per gallon

What sort of mechanical problem might this point to? I had it mechanically inspected before I bought it... :cry:

Hi...Maybe because it is Petrol....Or maybe because of the engine size! under powered 1998cc petrol engine for the weight of 3200kg......BUT I would have thought you should be getting more than 15 mpg:cry:....more in the region of 20 to 25 mpg.

Mel :thumb:

scotjimland

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 25, 2007
Funster No
MH
A Woosh bang
Has it been serviced recently ? If not change the air filter, a clogged filter will reduce MPG .. also change spark plugs, engine oil and filter.

Check tyre pressures , low pressures will reduce MPG

Reduce load, ie empty water and waste tanks before journey

Do you have a roof box ? If so remove it.