Newbie Question - MPG's and best base vehicle for Campervan (1 Viewer)

Paul W

Free Member
Feb 23, 2011
South Wales
Funster No
MH
don't own one yet
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi Everyone.

I'm new on here, and have joined so I can get some first hand experience and knowledge before I dive in and buy my first campervan.

I want to get something like a VW T4, T5 or Vivaro size van so I can also sue it during the week for my work. I currently drive a Citroen Dispatch van, which is 1.9 naturally aspirated diesel. It gives me 34 mpg on my usual journeys, measured over 12 months. The van is not converted to a camper, but has been used for the odd overnight stop at a pinch.

Will a T4, T5 or Vivaro give similar performance ? My day to day trips involve a mix of M'way and town driving.

How much "roofrack" weight can I put on a pop-top ? I have two kayaks that weigh 26 kg each. Is there any problem with wind loading of the roof when carrying stuff on the roofrack ?

Is there a particular model I should avoid ? I've read some real horror stories of VW's and Vivaros.... .what is the general feeling on here ?

I'll be grateful for any advice on "your first campervan". I have around £7k at the moment, but am thinking I could re-mortgage the house for some extra funds. Would anyone recommend this as a course of action ?

Help - basically :Smile:

Thanks
Paul

Wildman

Free Member
May 30, 2008
Ilfracombe, Devon
Funster No
MH
Amazon Ambassador
Exp
since 1967
hi and welcome, to be honest make do with what you have and do not remortgage, debt will knock the shine off of anything you buy. I'm sure there are a number of panelvan users who can comment on your other queries, ebay often has a bargain or two tucked away if you are handy with a bit of diy. spend the cash on a decent base vehicle and fit out as you go, ther are a few tranny 4x4 vans out there from the utility companies crying out for conversion and ex ambulance that are almost done for you.

Terry

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 27, 2007