recomended electrician required (1 Viewer)

IanH

Free Member
Apr 6, 2008
Cornwall
Funster No
MH
5th wheel
Exp
Hi all
im'e looking for a electrician to rewire /convert my 5th wheel to 240v ,either mobile or local and must be used to RV systems .
Other than Itchy Feet down here in Cornwall has anyone got any recomendations

Cheers Ian

Sundowners

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 30, 2007
Suffolk/Central Portugal
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
37 years
hi
like Jim I don't know anyone down your way,
We had Cross Country do ours, seem OK pricewise, but it's a long way from home for you, It' not rocket science----you could get a local sparky to do it------BUT you need to know which route to take !!
Nigel

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

harryoxford2

Free Member
Sep 14, 2010
Bishops Stortford Herts
Funster No
MH
B
Exp
2010 and camper all my life
CAUTION..im a newbie so dont take any of this as gospel

from all the forums and advice ive seen on here there are people on here can sort it.

Correct me if im wrong experts but I think im right in saying that 5th wheeler will be rated 50amp wired and the max it will ever get plugged in is 16amp or perhaps a little higher on a site.
Ample anyway for 240 volts, so its already wired, you just need to change the sockets and get an electrician to fit out the conversion you require.

The genny probably produces 110 which you need for your onboard american stuff so you need a thingy (not saying what its called in case its wrong) that converts 240 to 240 and 110 plug in.

My rv has a relay box thingy under the bathroom sink (bright place to put it huh?) and its the origional american fitting and it says 110/240 on it. Have a poke around under seats and in hidden spaces usually near the plug in and see whats what.

The electrician may only need to take some 110 circuits and place them on the 240 side and replace the american 110 sockets with english 240.