TomTom 7000/Garmin/Snooper 7000? (1 Viewer)

PaulW

Free Member
May 29, 2010
South Bucks
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
Hi all,

I am new to the motorhoming game and am looking to buy a sat nav system that I can use in the UK and across Europe.

I've read some of the write ups/reviews of the truck/motorhome-oriented sat nav systems of the three manufacturers mentioned above.

My instinct is probably to go for the TomTom as i've used one before and they seem to be relatively bullet proof. I don't know the other two. The Snooper Ventura seems great in terms of features but there seem to have been quite a few reports of things not working as they should. Also, the download process (I'm not very techie about such things) seems potentially trickier?

The Snooper proposition is also partly based on it being pre-loaded with lots of campsite (and Aire?) information. It is however my understanding that this is quite easily downloaded onto a TomTom, at which point one would have equivalent maps and data on the two systems. Is my assumption correct?

I'd also be very grateful for any thoughts about the value of the 'truck' features of these systems - the ability to select width, height and length tolerances. Are the map databases and programmes such that this is a useful feature?

Clearly one could simply remain on the motorways (which I don't want to do) and never encounter a restriction. Do these systems work in such a way as to enable you to go off the motorways but still avoid narrow lanes and low bridges? If not, a cheaper, simpler (say) Tom Tom may be better?

Any thoughts/suggestions/experiences gratefully received.

Many thanks

Regards
Paul

JJ

Mágica
May 1, 2008
Quinta Majay, Pinheiro Bordalo, Portugal
Funster No
MH
Burstner Privilege T
Exp
over 50 years
IMHO the TomTom is the easiest to use.

However I have only used it and a Garmin. I am sure the Garmin would have been ok if I had bothered to learn how to use it!