You views on Portable petrol/diesel generators (1 Viewer)

Brenintot

Free Member
Jul 24, 2008
Cwmbran, South Wales, UK
Funster No
MH
C Class
Exp
Since 1980
I’m wondering, what is the consensus regarding portable generators, I have been motorhoming for 30 years this summer & have never felt I needed one. They seem to be much cheaper to buy nowadays & have become very popular with motorhomers. At the moment I feel a Solar Panel is the right choice for us, but was wondering, as Petrol generators are so popular that I may be missing out on something in respect of the benefits.

My personal position is that I like to travel as light as possible with minimal kit. At the moment, I see them only as hassle for a number of reasons.

· Theft or having to lock it up securely
· Storage space taken up in the van
· Risks associated with the Storage & use of flammable fuel
· Setting up time & refuelling etc
· The noise & pollution produced by petrol/diesel driven machines.
· The anti social stigma when used at any time within the vicinity of others.

If you are dependent on the 220v power supply from a generator for medical reasons I feel the freedom offered is justified. But for social use, a Solar panel (even in the UK) seems to be the best solution. Our last MH had good quality roof mounted solar panel; it gave us total freedom from any other power source. Two years ago we went on a 6-week trip through UK, France & Spain Inc 12v TV & still came home with fully charged batteries.

Thanks in advance for your views.

Nov 30, 2009
Pickering
Funster No
MH
PVC the PUG
Exp
Since 2009 with motorhomes several caravans then tents before that.
The large solar panel was more than enough for our caravan on our regular weekend rallies. We've even managed a weeks holiday with them. We just had normal leisure batteries too. Thats with 5 of us , and the kids having all the electric gadgets they do.