Towed car or a scooter? - advice please. (1 Viewer)

GREENTUB

Free Member
Oct 21, 2009
South Yorkshire
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
Novice
We are making a visit to our dealer next weekend to discuss some pre-delivery additions to our ordered Motorhome - Autocruise Augusta - a tow bar is on the list. Although an ex-boating complete novice to motorhomes I'm pretty convinced that we'll need some sort of additional transport but can't make up my mind between a towed vehicle or a rack mounted motorcycle. My niaivety can't help but worry about what you would do if forced to reverse with a towed vehicle! I ride a scooter almost daily so I'm aware of the plus points and pitfalls of two wheels. I understand that the maximum rear axle loading of the Augusta is 2400kg with a MTPLM of 4250kg. Any advice from the wealth of knowledge of 'Funsters' would be most welcome.

hilldweller

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 5, 2008
Macclesfield
Funster No
MH
Zilch Mk1
Exp
From Aug 2007
I understand that the maximum rear axle loading of the Augusta is 2400kg with a MTPLM of 4250kg. Any advice from the wealth of knowledge of 'Funsters' would be most welcome.

First thing is to do the calculation to see if you can mount a scooter at all. So choose your scooter weight + mounting then find your overhang distances and see what you end up with on the axles and total weight.

I think there's a scooter trailer on offer in here.

barryd

Free Member
Feb 10, 2009
Yorkshire Dales
Funster No
MH
C Class
Exp
Since May 08
It has to be a scooter for us. Just great fun and to be honest if your going to tow something you may as well have a caravan. We have a Kontiki 640 and adding a bike was my first project. It has definitely been the best addition, we love it! However I did a lot of research and you clearly have to watch the payload.