Disabled parking ticket advice required (1 Viewer)

barryd

Free Member
Feb 10, 2009
Yorkshire Dales
Funster No
MH
C Class
Exp
Since May 08
Despite several warnings from other users on here about Hampshire’s keenness on issuing parking tickets I have still managed to get one today on the Isle of Wight.

Because I now suffer from Arthritis I was issued with a Blue Badge this year (so I am quite new to the rules and regs).

We parked in a pay and display at Shanklin. We could have opted to park on a double yellow line in the village but I decided that this would be irresponsible even though it would be legal as the streets are narrow and I would have probably inconvenienced other drivers.

The sign on the car park clearly stated it was free for disabled for up to 3 hours. I am aware that if your not disabled you should buy two tickets but as I am disabled I assumed that even if I take up two bays its would be free. I parked away from the nearby disabled boxes as I would have stuck out and caused an obstruction. I parked in the quite frankly near empty car park at the top out of the way occupying the two end bays but not overlapping on either side nor causing an obstruction. This would mean people could get passed and I wouldn’t get blocked in.

On my return I had a parking ticket for £25 rising to £50 if not paid in 14 days on the windscreen with the reason being “Parked beyond the bay markings”. Well I don’t think I was as I was in two bays but within the markings. If it had said free for disabled in one bay I would have bought a ticket for the other bay but it didn’t.

I intend to contest this. It seems a little bit over zealous to issue a ticket to a holiday maker who is disabled at Christmas but there you go!

Has anyone been in a similar situation and if so what was the outcome? In future I will just park on the double yellow lines outside the car park or buy an additional ticket.

Cheers
Barry
:Smile::Smile:

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007