Blocked waste pipes (1 Viewer)

Aug 19, 2009
Leicestershire
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
I am new to owning a motorhome I have a Rapido 997M. The drain from the shower to the waste tank is blocked and emptying the hand basin in the bathroom is ridiculously slow. Question: can I use a strong chemical drain clearer to sort this out or could I do some damage in the process, or can someone suggest another method. Thanks

Last edited:

chrisgreen

Funster
Jul 26, 2009
england
Funster No
MH
c class
Exp
since 2004
it might not be blocked,it might be air locked.
try filling the basin and draining off the tank as the basin emties if it suddenly go's away you have an air lock.
alot of motorhome suffer with slow draining sink's and showers, mine does.

chris

May 22, 2008
Funster No
I find with my van that draining is positional, my van drains best if it is slightly left hand down and nose high, maybe yours is the same, blocked pipes can be cleared with air pressure, try a sink plunger , fill the shower tray or sink with water and plunger the outlet, do it carefully though as you are dealing with fragile plastic usually, try a drop of bleach down the pipes too, or a propriety drain cleaner again take care as its plastic you are dealing with. Does your van have water traps under the sinks and shower?are they blocked?:thumb::thumb:

May 22, 2008
Funster No
Another method of clearing a blocked pipe in the Van you may like to try is ,get a length of curtain wire, you know the plastic coated wire that you hang net curtains on and thread this carefully through the blocked pipe as far as you can get it, this should start a flow that you could follow up with bleach or something ?:thumb::thumb::thumb:

Deleted User
spongy