MH
Elddis Autoquest
Exp
3 years
Hi all .
just want to pick your brains if you don't mind thanks.:thumb:
Our motorhome is parked in the driveway as we wont be able to
use it untill the spring.
It is our first winter so I have drained it and prepared it by the book.
I was worried about cold and damp so I connected the hookup cable
into the garage so I could use the internal heating system at intervals
if required.
But being a novice I dont know if it is a good/bad idea or if there is a
better alternative.
our first summer was brilliant, cant wait for next year.:Smile:
thanks for your time.
Jim.

madbluemad

Banned
Jan 26, 2008
spain
Funster No
MH
just looking
Exp
since 1980
I have my rv hooked up all year round and its not a problem.

A lot of people have heaters in their mh- rv, small fan heaters or oil filled radiators so that they can be turned on and off whenever it gets really cold. It tends to keep the damp away.

Jim
:Smile:

GJH

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 20, 2007
Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
Funster No
MH
None, now sold
Exp
2006 to 2022
Our van is parked on the drive as well - though we do try to get away in winter as well as other times of year when we can.

The built-in heating is gas only so we have a small oil-filled radiator which can be turned on during colder nights. We used it quite a lot in our first winter but then realised that we didn't need to use it quite as much. We now keep an eye on the weather forecasts for cold nights and switch on just when needed.

Graham

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Spacerunner

Free Member
Apr 7, 2008
Hampshire
Funster No
MH
C Class
Exp
A small heater with a 'frost guard' setting is ideal as it comes on automatically when the temperature drops to a critical level.

I also use a dehumidifier. Ok, I know that the 'van will not be hermetically sealed but it will keep the soft furnishings and upholstery from absorbing too much moisture.