First time insurance for a new motorhome user, reasonable? (1 Viewer)

Barry72

Free Member
Jun 20, 2016
Perthshire
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi, I have never been a fan of the cheapest of anything as cheapest is rarely best but just wanted some reassurance that I'm not missing anything before pulling the trigger on a new quote in my name.

The motorhome in question is a Hymer B575 Classic, for the past year I have driven it as a named driver on my fathers policy. Now ownership is being passed to me and I will be insuring it as my first motorhome.
It will still be parked on his property on a private drive away from the road, insurance is for unlimited miles, includes European cover and UK and Europe breakdown cover. Thatcham 1 alarm, tracker not approved so not mentioned. Myself and the boss as named drivers although she will probably only driver from the passenger seat.
The quote from Comfort was £451 without any no claim discount. The cheapest a comparison site gave was £291 without any European or breakdown cover.

Really just checking if there are any pitfalls to look out for or any specific questions I should ask before accepting a quote.

Cheers.

Barry.

mustaphapint

Free Member
Oct 9, 2015
Worcestershire and Brittany
Funster No
MH
A Class
Exp
Just starting
I'm with Comfort, full European breakdown with a limit of 10,000 miles. Age 62. I've just renewed after my first full year for £400, first year was £380. Apparently they don't give no claims discount.

DuxDeluxe

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 10, 2008
Planet Zog
Funster No
MH
A woosh bang van
Exp
since 2008
Hi, I have never been a fan of the cheapest of anything as cheapest is rarely best but just wanted some reassurance that I'm not missing anything before pulling the trigger on a new quote in my name.