Free Member
Aug 20, 2016
West Dorset
Funster No
MH
C class
Exp
Newbies, now have a Chausson Flash 08
So here we are with our new, old motorhome which we've now owned for 48 hours, complete beginners . We're currently at a site that has a drain to pour grey water down but you cannot drive over it. What do you recommend we use/buy in such situations? It doesn't matter at the moment as we are only here til Monday and can empty where we will store (until next trip). Just wondered what we need.

Feb 24, 2013
Bolsover, Derbyshire
Funster No
MH
Hymer S800
Exp
not long enough
or see if you can get an extension hose to fit on to the outlet pipe, we have 5m of hose that we connect when we cant drive over or get near enough (y)

Upvote 0
OP
OP
beejay

beejay

Free Member
Aug 20, 2016
West Dorset
Funster No
MH
C class
Exp
We're going home via Highbridge so we can look round shop. We haven't got a hose yet.

Upvote 0
Jan 2, 2015
Cumbria
Funster No
MH
Burstner Solano t725
Exp
since 2014
A lot of standard buckets are too high for the grey tap so we use one of the lower 10 litre paint tubs, Snowcem to be exact, which my wife was appalled when I said I would use it so she decorated it....

20160924_170056.jpg

Upvote 0
Feb 9, 2008
SW Scotland
Funster No
MH
LP Coachbuilt
Exp
Since 2008 after caravanning for 20 years
Don't do as I witnessed last week. Out late walking the dog went past a MH with the drain cracked open, same van had his drain open when he left next morning. Not the first time I've seen this.

Upvote 0

PP Bear

LIFE MEMBER
Apr 5, 2013
Kent, UK
Funster No
MH
Auto Trail Dakota SE
Exp
Nice and slim to fit under the lowest grey drain, then it's a bit of exercise to take it to the drain point. Lots of sites I've been on say that they're very happy to have the grey put in the hedgerow, but ask first and not near or on anyone else's pitch:)