Post office Travel money card question.. (1 Viewer)

Charlie

Free Member
May 16, 2015
Herefordshire / Worcestershire borders .
Funster No
MH
Auto Sleeper Kemerton.
Exp
Im a newbie
we have quite a chunk of money on our PO Travel money card which we saved up for France this year. Due to my wife not bieng well we have not used our MH this year and won't be travelling this year. We would like to access some of or maybe all of the money...

I understand we can make purchases with the card at any seller who has MasterCard facilities ??? It's the rate that confuses me. We bought the Euros when the pound was much stronger so what rate will we get roughly when we spend or if we ask the PO to redeem the money into our bank account ?

We are still renovating the bungalow we moved into recently so making direct purchases would be preferable if it works out better that way ?

Lot of questions I know but it's a confusing situation.

Thanks !!!!

D

Deleted member 29692

Deleted User
If you want to use the card to spend in the UK then the Euros on it will need to be converted back to Pounds. You will get whatever their rate is on the day the transaction is processed. Obviously the Pound is weaker against the Euro now so depending on the rate when you bought them you will make a bit. The same applies to just getting them to redeem it back to your bank account.

What you really need to know is the process they use for converting the Euros back to Pounds and whether or not there are any penalties or particularly crappy exchange rates for doing so.

RandallC

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 4, 2012
Devizes
Funster No
MH
A Class Rapido 8096
Exp
2012, prior too, 17 years Folding Camper & Caravan
Hi, does the card hold £ or euros?

If bought euros whilst £ was high the more euros per £

If selling euros when £ low more £ per euro.

Just need to check the exchange rates before cashing in.

For future reference. Use Nationwide cards
Debit for cash frome ATMs
Credit for all purchases

Good luck