Passenger Seat Swivel Question (1 Viewer)

djw1953

Free Member
Sep 4, 2016
Uttoxeter
Funster No
MH
just looking
Exp
I'm a newbie
Maybe a daft question but does a swivelling passenger seat have to face forward whilst travelling? :cautious:

dabhand

LIFE MEMBER
Feb 19, 2014
Staffs
Funster No
MH
Concorde carver E35
Exp
Since 1993
possibly not lots of vehicles have rear facing seats but if it was a child i believe they have to be belted
Don't think children should be belted personally:)

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0
Jan 25, 2013
Dorchester, Dorset, UK
Funster No
MH
Sad former owner
Exp
Since 1991
I don't know the answer, but if my passenger seat is swivelled, the back and head rest obscure the near side wing mirror - rather essential when driving! And no, I don't drive with the seat swivelled!

Reactions: GBS
Upvote 0

DP+JAY

LIFE MEMBER
Mar 17, 2010
Dalbeattie
Funster No
MH
Laika 5009
Exp
since 2007, 25 years tuggin before that.
It can face backwards provided it is locked in position & doesn't obscure the mirror but getting the belt to work may be your problem as even in a rear facing seat the belt ( if fitted) must be worn

Reactions: GJH
Upvote 0

scotjimland

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 25, 2007
Funster No
MH
A Woosh bang
seat belt cannot be used, so the answer is no.

Upvote 0
Oct 29, 2012
essex
Funster No
MH
Rapido 9090df
Exp
20 years (unless you count my dads VW which makes it 52 years with a few gaps!!)
I asked the same question many years ago and never did get a definitive answer but personally I think it is ok as long as seat belt is worn.

Upvote 0
D

Deleted member 29692

Deleted User
seat belt cannot be used, so the answer is no.

That depends on the vehicle.

On ours the entire seatbelt assembly is part of the seat so the fittings move with the seat allowing the belt to be worn no matter what position the seat is in.

Upvote 0
D

Deleted member 29692

Deleted User