Winter cycling (1 Viewer)

May 5, 2009
Clitheroe, UK
Funster No
MH
Poptop
Exp
I'm planning to escape the Brtish winter this year by taking off in my camper for two or three (or four) weeks to do some cycling. I'll be travelling solo and will be away over Christmas and New Year so it would be nice to find some company from time to time. I'm new to this game so would appreciate any suggestions as to suitable destinations.
Most of my travelling in Europe has been by motorcycle and in the warmer weather. I got a shock a couple of years ago when I rode down to southern Portugal in January and it was -2 C in central Spain! So where will I find the most reliably warm weather?

I'm worried that I may struggle to find campsites that are open in the off-esason and I want to keep the mileage down if possible. I am happy to wild camp some of the time but would not be comfortable leaving the van unattended if I am off cycling for the day, hence the need for campsites.

I know a lot of you Funsters fly south in winter so I'd appreciate advice and suggestions.

stephen wormald

Free Member
Jul 8, 2008
Newcastle
Funster No
MH
Coach built C
Exp
weather in the algave

I'm planning to escape the Brtish winter this year by taking off in my camper for two or three (or four) weeks to do some cycling. I'll be travelling solo and will be away over Christmas and New Year so it would be nice to find some company from time to time. I'm new to this game so would appreciate any suggestions as to suitable destinations.
Most of my travelling in Europe has been by motorcycle and in the warmer weather. I got a shock a couple of years ago when I rode down to southern Portugal in January and it was -2 C in central Spain! So where will I find the most reliably warm weather?