Solar for Hymer 2004 Classic, the more I learn the more confused I get. (1 Viewer)

Barry72

Free Member
Jun 20, 2016
Perthshire
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi, We got our first motorhome this year, a Hymer 575 Classic 2004. We have enjoyed many short trips in it and a longer one which included Silverstone for the F1.
We are slowly setting it up the way it suits us and the next thing to tackle is solar. First thoughts were a simple 12v system to top up the leisure battery but then we thought to go the whole hog and have everything working as if on hookup but costs were starting to spiral. So back to the original plan which can then be added to at a later date if we feel the need.
I have just replaced the old 80Ah battery with a new 120Ah one after our first night in the wild went dark at 4am having only parked up at 7pm. We have only had one night away to test the new battery and we had ample power left after parking up at 2pm before retreating home early at midday after admitting defeat to the midges.
We are planning a longer trip next year for around a couple of weeks, mostly wild then stopping at the odd site every 3-5 days. We don't use much 12v apart from the 24" TV, lighting rarely used, most of the other usage is charging devices.
The question is regarding the charge controller, I have been reading about compatibility issues with some of the Hymer electrics. Do I need to involve the Hymer electrics in the system or are there any advantages in doing so or is my Hymer even compatible?
I had picked out a DIY kit for just over £200 or is it best to buy known parts individually than a cheaper kit.
Looking for some advice from those who use solar or especially those who have fitted solar to a similar aged Hymer. I think I also need help in what questions to ask, if there is any more specific details required to help I am happy to supply them once I know what they are.

Thanks for any advice.

Barry.

Reactions: DBK

scotjimland

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 25, 2007