Motorhome on a small budget or touring caravan (1 Viewer)

Paulfy4

Free Member
Aug 21, 2016
Blackpool
Funster No
MH
Don't own one yet
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hello everyone

Can I please ask for your advise,looking at buying out first MH but only have a £4,000 budget,not much I know,thinking of getting a tourer for about £1,500 and using that for a year or two and keep saving for a MH.

What in everyone's opinions are the firs and against for both MH and tourers

Thanks in advance for anyone's advise

Cheers Paul

MattR

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 18, 2013
Beds
Funster No
MH
Panel van
Exp
Years
IMHO, it depends on how many people need to be accommodated, where and when you plan to use it and whether you have another vehicle.

We have a Mazda Bongo (which is a small campervan) and can cosily acccommodate 4 adults but is much better for warmer camping than camping during the wetter and colder periods of the year. It is, however, a great everyday vehicle.

If you bought a caravan, you would need a vehicle that can pull it so you may end out losing twice on depreciation but might find that the caravan gives you more living space than a small camper. A caravan isn't so good for wild camping or using aires etc. on the continent.

I don't know much about motorhomes at this price but I have heard of people that have been lucky and got older MHs that have done them well for a few years. You might find, though, that the cost of storage becomes an issue and you might find it difficult getting a vehicle that isn't a dud.

OP
OP
P

Paulfy4

Free Member
Aug 21, 2016
Blackpool
Funster No
MH
Don't own one yet
Exp
I'm a newbie
Yeah the storage issue was a concern,as for the people it will be me the wife and our two boys 20/14 but we all get on great so that's fine

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

OP
OP
P

Paulfy4

Free Member
Aug 21, 2016
Blackpool
Funster No
MH
Don't own one yet
Exp
I'm a newbie