The logistics of MOT requirements when touring abroad full time (1 Viewer)

Originalsmoothie

Free Member
Jun 15, 2016
Southam
Funster No
MH
Hymer B754
Exp
I'm a newbie
We are going to spend the next two to three years touring the continent. Do I have to come back to the UK every year to renew my MOT? Can I have it done on the continent? If I have to come back to the UK, where is the most convenient MOT testing station near the channel tunnel? I will want to have my habitation check done at the same time.

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007
Dark side of the moon
Funster No
Exp
Since 2005
you will have to either return to the UK for MOT or register your van in country of residence.
Technically, after 6 uninterrupted months in the same country you must register the van in that country.

DBK

LIFE MEMBER
Jan 9, 2013
Plympton, Devon
Funster No
MH
PVC, Murvi Morocco
Exp
If the budget will stretch you could buy a new MH and not have to worry for three years.:)

OP
OP
Originalsmoothie

Originalsmoothie

Free Member
Jun 15, 2016
Southam
Funster No
MH
Hymer B754
Exp
I'm a newbie
If the budget will stretch you could buy a new MH and not have to worry for three years.:)
We could afford a new motorhome, but then we wouldn't have enough money to travel, so we would be shooting ourselves in the collective foot with that idea!

Reactions: DBK

Peter JohnsCross MH

Funster
Deceased RIP
Jan 5, 2008
East Sussex
Funster No
MH
Autotrail
Exp
Unfortunately it would appear to be true, same as RFL cost and renewal. we are reasonably near Dover and can do the hab and mechanical services and organise the MOT

Any delays or problems you could have a hook up and live aboard still, you would need to book in advance

Peter

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Jim

Ringleader
Jul 19, 2007
Sutton on Sea, UK
Funster No
MH
Adria Panel Van.
Exp
Since 1988