MPG and Fuel Gauge Bessacar E425 (1 Viewer)

fellmaster

Free Member
Sep 23, 2009
Funster No
Exp
I am relatively new to motorhoming and I have a 2003 E425 on a 2L Fiat JTD .

After the first trip it was clear it was under-powered after trawling the net for adviceI had it remapped . I have been happy with the results -more torque and an all round better drive etc

On the last trip I very nearly run out of fuel on the M6 luckily only about 100 from the services. The fuel gauge was showing just below 1/4 full. Does anyone know if this a known fault and how to rectify ?

Because of the gauge I am struggling to workout my MPG but its an 80ltr and based on half a tank it looks like I am only getting about 21/23 mpg

Apart from the obvious lifting the lead foot has anyone any tips for MPG
Thanks
Fell

hilldweller

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 5, 2008
Macclesfield
Funster No
MH
Zilch Mk1
Exp
From Aug 2007
I am relatively new to motorhoming and I have a 2003 E425 on a 2L Fiat JTD .

After the first trip it was clear it was under-powered after trawling the net for adviceI had it remapped . I have been happy with the results -more torque and an all round better drive etc

On the last trip I very nearly run out of fuel on the M6 luckily only about 100 from the services. The fuel gauge was showing just below 1/4 full. Does anyone know if this a known fault and how to rectify ?

Because of the gauge I am struggling to workout my MPG but its an 80ltr and based on half a tank it looks like I am only getting about 21/23 mpg

Apart from the obvious lifting the lead foot has anyone any tips for MPG
Thanks
Fell

We have exactly the same motor, also flashed because it was useless as standard.

I can run on zero for a good while.

We get 25mpg if going a bit quicker than the HGVs and no more, I got it down to 20 using all the extra power.

The only way to get a good mpg calculation is a few full to the brim top ups, but it looks like you'll mirror what we have over the last 2 years.