May 17, 2016
Aberdeenshire
Funster No
MH
B524
Exp
2nd base
Evening folks.

I am currently making my own scooter rack for my Talbot Express, Elddis Autostratus. I have got the main frame made up and have had it bolted on to the tow bar flange and rolled my moped up on to it.

It seems to sit fine enough but perhaps a wee bit to wobbly for my liking. I have a vertical length of box section running up between the back of the van and the moped, this is for another piece to slide down and clamp the moped in place. I was wondering if anyone knows if there is somewhere on the back of the van which would be strong enough to bolt this box section to for extra support to stop the wobble?

I have circled where I would like to bolt to the van on this first picture.

k01p40.jpg

10nujd4.jpg

2vn3lfo.jpg

If anyone has any other ideas or notices anything else that I have missed feel free to let me know as this is my first attempt at this kind of fabrication.

OP
OP
monzer
May 17, 2016
Aberdeenshire
Funster No
MH
B524
Exp
2nd base
Bolt it through with a spreader plate each side and a spacer between + loads of sealant.

Try and use stainless steel for plates and bolt.

Thanks. What kind of material am I likely to find in there? Am I right in thinking that there wont be anything structurally strong enough to bolt directly to?

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Apr 13, 2012
Funster No
MH
Mobilvetta Euroyacht
Exp
1996, then break 'til 2011
Could you clamp the top to the ladder?...with a plate either side of the ladder

OP
OP
monzer
May 17, 2016
Aberdeenshire
Funster No
MH
B524
Exp
2nd base
Could you clamp the top to the ladder?...with a plate either side of the ladder

Thanks, not a bad idea, the ladder would be strong enough for what I am needing, it's not taking any weight it's just for a bit of extra support. I've given up for today so might have another bash at it tomorrow.

icantremember

LIFE MEMBER
Sep 2, 2010
Near to Watton in Norfolk
Funster No
MH
Hymer T-SL668