1st time in France - Open to suggestions (1 Viewer)

fpinela

Free Member
Apr 4, 2016
Leeds
Funster No
MH
C Class
Exp
I'm a newbie
I'm leaving home tomorrow for a 2/3 month trip around France, Spain & Portugal, crossing the ferry on Sunday early morning to Calais.

Our planned route is through Arras, Reims, Troyes, Dijon and stay for a while in the alps region. I've got the vicarious books with all the aires, but as far as I can see there's only one aire in Arras and seems very small and probably busy. Has anyone been there recently and advise how likely we will find a space available? Arras, Reims, Troyes and Dijon we will very possibly only stay overnight and move to the next one, leaving more time to enjoy the alps region. Of course if we find a nice place and want to stay longer, we will just do it.

What I would like to ask you is if you have any suggestions of nice aires/places to visit in these places?

Thanks

hilldweller

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 5, 2008
Macclesfield
Funster No
MH
Zilch Mk1
Exp
From Aug 2007
Of course if we find a nice place and want to stay longer, we will just do it.

That's the way to do it, as Punch said.

France Spain Portugal over 3 months, that's a decent time-scale for a change, often people want to do it in 3 weeks.

Alps - well we've just been singing the praises of Chamonix in here.

I hope you like hot and crowded, you'll soon experience it.

GeriatricWanderer

Free Member
Feb 1, 2015
Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso, just cos I can!
Funster No
MH
Pop-Top Campervan
Exp
45years
My recommendation for a good length of time like that would be to spend a little time each evening plotting where to go on the next leg but no further. Don't be too rigid on your planned route, go with the flow and follow your nose, and the weather and don't be afraid of changing your mind.

On this trip of mine I wanted to spend some time in the Auvergne but when I got there it had been raining for 4 days so I moved on to hot and dry Provence.