Dec 1, 2012
Yorkshire
Funster No
MH
Lunar Roadstar 800
Exp
Since 2010
A question, NOT a criticism!

Why have an extra set of tyres, brake shoes/pads, cables, etc to worry about.
Our Lunar is 4250kgs Max gross weight, plenty of payload.

A swift on the site we are at is 2 ft longer than ours at 26 ft.
So is it length, weight, or what?
Is it safer on a long vehicle, if so why don't buses have 3 axles?

Mikey RV

LIFE MEMBER
Mar 7, 2010
Devon
Funster No
MH
Burstner Elegance I821G
Exp
Since 1977
Burstner elegance 5000 max gross weight.almost 1000 payload. 30ft long but drives like a car 3ltr 160 BHP 24 MPG and yes some coaches have three axles. Each to there own, if we all liked the same it would be a boring world. Happy travels. (y)

Charlie

Free Member
May 16, 2015
Herefordshire / Worcestershire borders .
Funster No
MH
Auto Sleeper Kemerton.
Exp
Im a newbie
Don't have one never driven one but maybe they handle nicer . They look dead cool to me and I could never be bothered to worry about a couple of extra tyres.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

OP
OP
Autowbars

Autowbars

Free Member
Dec 1, 2012
Yorkshire
Funster No
MH
Lunar Roadstar 800
Exp
Since 2010
In what way are they easier to handle please

maz

Jan 26, 2011
Bizeljsko, Slovenia
Funster No
MH
N+B Arto
Exp
Since March 2011
Our Lunar is 4250kgs Max gross weight, plenty of payload.
'Plenty of payload' is a moveable feast. What is plenty for you may not be plenty for others. Hence, as full timers, we elect to have a van with 1300 kg payload - and that happens to be a tag axle.

We certainly don't worry about the extra two wheels - life's way too short. :D

Forestboy

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 31, 2007
Forest of Dean
Funster No
MH
A Class Hymer B694 tag
Exp
Hymer B694G
Tag axle 25ft long very small overhang 5000kgs gross massive payload nearly 1500kgs.
Beautifully stable to drive 25mpg super easy to manoeuvre under 3 mts high huge garage easily takes 650cc motorbike plus all the stuff we need for 3 months.