Apr 4, 2016
Leeds
Funster No
MH
C Class
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi folks,

I've been reading this forum for a while and it's now time to join the community. I'm Portuguese, living in Leeds and in my late 20's and looking to buy my 1st motorhome. Initially, and because I work full time from home as a software developer (contractor) , my idea was to keep working while touring in Europe. All i need is a laptop and internet connection and this seemed like a good idea to make the most of my flexible work commitments, but I've now discarded this idea as I don't think I would be able to enjoy as much as I can with all the stress related. Maybe in the future, with more experience I'll come back to this idea.

So at the moment I'm searching for my "perfect" motorhome, with a budget of around £15k and this is where all the questions come.
It will be me and my girlfriend travelling southern europe for about 3/4 months (staying 1/2 weeks at a friends house in spain & 2/3 weeks at my parents in Portugal). We love cycling and will carry 2/3 bikes with us, which seems to cause a lot of constraints in terms of layout and maybe you can give me some tips.

I've seen a lunar champ 520e, which it would be great for us but there's no space for the bikes inside. As these are quite expensive bikes, I wouldn't be confortable leaving them alone and visible in the bike rack. Then I could possibly get something with bunk beds and storage at the rear, which would be perfect to store the bikes but it's a longer MH with all that implies (fuel, parking, etc...) for only a couple travelling and a lot of unused berths just seems like a big waste.

Is there any other alternative layouts or options to store the bikes that i'm not aware? Any recommendations would be highly appreciated. :)

Anthea M

Free Member
Deceased RIP
Oct 18, 2015
Sheffield
Funster No
MH
Hobby
Exp
Since 2009