A wee import question regarding duties and transportation (1 Viewer)

Charlie

Free Member
May 16, 2015
Herefordshire / Worcestershire borders .
Funster No
MH
Auto Sleeper Kemerton.
Exp
Im a newbie
I have the need for a light goods trailer. I have seen one here in the UK made by an Italian company called Neptun .

The cost of the trailer here in the UK is £1650. I can buy exactly the same trailer in Germany for 1019 quid (At Today's rate.

Am I right in thinking I will not have to pay VAT on it if I buy one from Germany ?

Can I as a VAT registered business claim any VAT or equivalent tax paid in Germany ?

Does anyone have any ideas how I might get one shipped to the UK at sensible rates ? Failing that a trip over may be on the cards.

My problem is I need a trailer within two or three weeks. So an unexpected holiday over to collect may not be possible but I could just take a ferry over and collect.

Thanks.

Link to the trailer

Jul 29, 2007
Ipswich
Funster No
MH
RV and PVC
Exp
30 years
As I understand it, you pay Germany Vat or UK vat. You can't not pay Vat to one or the other.

Ian

irnbru

LIFE MEMBER
Jun 27, 2013
Glasgow
Funster No
MH
Benimar 264
Exp
11 yrs
Maybe you could ask if there are any funsters over there at the moment that could bring it back for you. Its always worth an ask.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Tootles

Funster
Deceased RIP
Sep 14, 2013
Lancaster
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
Was a newbie, now a Middie.
As I understand it, you pay Germany Vat or UK vat. You can't not pay Vat to one or the other.

Ian
I think your right. Pay the German VAT, but make sure you get the VAT invoice!! Anyway, who is to know?? You just put a number plate on it. No one will bat an eyelid.

Gorse Hill

Free Member
Feb 2, 2013
Stretford
Funster No
MH
Burnster Ixeo IT 734
Exp
I have the need for a light goods trailer. I have seen one here in the UK made by an Italian company called Neptun .