LIFE MEMBER
Sep 22, 2013
North East England
Funster No
MH
Looking to buy
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hello there, can anyone answer this query?

I have held a normal driving licence since 1970, this gives me class C1, I believe I can drive a vehicle up to 7.5t. The Chausson motorhome is classed as a 3500 KG but the V5 document only shows a revenue weight of 3650 KG. The Fiat chassis data plate has the following 4 weights, 3650 KG, 6150 KG, 1850 KG and 2000 KG. The Trigano data plate lists 4 weights, 3500 KG, 4600 KG, 1850 KG and 2000 KG.

The question is what is the maximum total legal weight I can drive on the road and what do the various weights refer to?
Any help with explanation of all or some of the data would be gratefully appreciated.

Regards, Kelvin.

D

Deleted member 29692

Deleted User
The weight on the V5 is the correct one. The maximum weight is 3650kg.

The weights in order are:

1. MTPLM of the vehicle - the maximum it can weigh and still be legal
2. The maximum train weight - this is the maximum combined weight of the vehicle and any trailer
3. The maximum load on the front axle
4. The maximum load on the rear axle.

The motorhome isn't "classed" as any particular weight. A lot of converters will plate them at 3500kg so that they can be driven on a normal car licence. The problem with that is that a lot of them aren't fit for purpose at that weight which is why lots of people uprate them.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0
Jul 13, 2008
Funster No
MH
Low profile
Exp
Since 2007
The weight on the V5 is the correct one. The maximum weight is 3650kg.

The weights in order are:

1. MTPLM of the vehicle - the maximum it can weigh and still be legal
2. The maximum train weight - this is the maximum combined weight of the vehicle and any trailer
3. The maximum load on the front axle
4. The maximum load on the rear axle.