Couple of electrical questions please ? (1 Viewer)

Charlie

Free Member
May 16, 2015
Herefordshire / Worcestershire borders .
Funster No
MH
Auto Sleeper Kemerton.
Exp
Im a newbie
Am planning on getting an auto electrician to fit a couple of wee devices to the van next weekend . Havent bought the yet so thats where your advice will come in .

First one is a battery master or a similar device. I know of the Vanbitz one but are there others that work well ?

Second one is a Battery monitor. The NASA BM1 is the one I like the look of but again alternative suggestions very welcome.

A specific question on the BM1 as I know a few of you have that one. Is the display back lit all of the time or does it go off after a while. Dont really want it glowing through the night .

My understanding of electrics is none. My dyslexia makes reading wiring a complete non starter which is why I will not and cannot attempt what I believe is the simple job of wiring these things in. So please if advising of technicalities keep it simple or I wont understand .

Many thanks !!

Sep 22, 2013
Halifax
Funster No
MH
Relay self-build
Exp
Trainee MH owner
The NASA BM1 has a backlight that you switch on and off as required. In my view the main competitor to the NASA battery monitors would be the one by Victron.

The NASA BM1 comes with the ability to also monitor starter battery - I think that is an extra cost with the Victron?

scotjimland

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 25, 2007
Suffolk Coastal District, UK
Funster No
MH
Timberland
@Charlie

First one is a battery master or a similar device. I know of the Vanbitz one but are there others that work well ?

Sterling Power also do one, called Battery Maintainer.. http://sterling-power.com/products/battery-to-battery-charger-maintainer

apart form the small difference in price.. the Sterling model has a 3 amp output , Vanbitz is 1.1 amp ‘trickle charge’

Quote from product PDF https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0..._c966174c-768b-4445-b65c-b54de9b0d078.pdf?747