Free Member
May 8, 2008
brierfield lancs
Funster No
MH
american rv
Exp
just started
need some advice please. when we switch the blown air heating on the fan starts up but the gas doesnt ignite.where do we start to look and if we cant spot anything does anyone know of somewere in Lancs for help.PS complete novices with this rv thingy:RollEyes:

Sundowners

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 30, 2007
Suffolk/Central Portugal
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
37 years
First thing to look at, your batteries must have plenty of charge. We've had the same problem. As ours was a bit long in the tooth, we eventually replaced ours with a new furnace as we are now fulltiming in ours and we didn't want an 'iffy' one over last winter. It cost us $660.00 bought direct from the States.

'Damondunc' on here knows a thing or two about them and repairs them, so it might be an idea to pm him.

Nigel and Pamala

OP
OP
john and carole

john and carole

Free Member
May 8, 2008
brierfield lancs
Funster No
MH
american rv
Exp
just started
Thanks guys ,batteries have plenty of charge so will download furnace troubleshooting and take it from there and hope its nothing to serious:thumb:

scotjimland

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 25, 2007
Suffolk Coastal District, UK
Funster No
MH
Timberland
Thanks guys ,batteries have plenty of charge so will download furnace troubleshooting and take it from there and hope its nothing to serious:thumb:

Mine is often troublesome at the onset of winter, but after running it's usually fine ..

Good luck, persevere, if it's been idle for a while it may take several attempts to get it lit.. the gas line may be empty, dampness is also a problem if it's been laid up, try spraying the board and connectors with some WD 40 .. make sure there are no spiders webs in the burner and air intake..

Look inside the van, make sure the air intake isn't blocked, ours is under the sofa and Jan once put a blanket in and blocked it ..

Jim

Last edited:

GEOFFs125

Free Member
Sep 14, 2007
Salisbury, Wilts
Funster No
MH