Apr 25, 2016
Edinburgh
Funster No
MH
rental
Exp
im brand new to this
Hi
can anyone tell me the ins and outs of campsites ,are we allowed to just turn up or should we try to book a spot
booking could be a problem as we are just going to follow our noses and head north to wherever we get to
all advice good and bad is greatly appreciated by two very newbies
mik,yvonne + zeus

Allan & Loren

Free Member
Dec 8, 2014
Leyland, Lancashire
Funster No
MH
Autotrail Dakota
Exp
Since 2014
Hi.
We always phone ahead just to make sure they've got space but you can turn up unannounced and take your chances. Definitely book if school holidays or you could be searching around for a spot for ages.

Hollyberry

LIFE MEMBER
Apr 24, 2011
New Forest.
Funster No
MH
None.
Exp
4yrs
Booking depends on the site and time of year. Some are fully booked in high season. Large sites might have a few pitches and you pay your money and you're in!
Usually you can't arrive until after midday & some site managers can flip if anyone turns up before then.
Also depends how many sites there are in an area. If one's full you can drive onto another. In France there's always an Aire or somewhere to park up so far less need to book than UK.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

sdc77

Free Member
Jan 28, 2013
Weardale, Co Durham
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
since 2011
Booking or at least phoning is maybe a good idea but not normaly essential except at peak times.
If you're just looking for overnight stops (free) as opposed to campsites then consider schemes such as brits tops and park 4 night etc

Aug 6, 2013
Kendal, Cumbria
Funster No
MH
Le-Voyageur RX958 Pl
Exp
since 1999