In The Beginning - Thinking of self build (1 Viewer)

manchestercamper

Free Member
Apr 16, 2016
manchester
Funster No
MH
just looking
Exp
i'm a newbie
Hi
background I have started to think of building my own camper van. I am now a solo camper.
I want to build something which will be more than a day van just a simple camper
Bast on something like the Fiat Doblo or similar . It would have all the necessary
to be classed as a camper van by DVLA. I have seen builds on U Tube. Which i could easily do.

My questions are this is it possible to use a base car such as Doblo or similar and by removing the back seats use the back as a camper as a ad hoc basis. The bed unit and kitchen can easily be made in such a way that they can be slide in and clipped into position.
What are the implications regarding DVLA and insurance as the vercle would being used as both a car and a camper. does anyone know this?

scotjimland

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 25, 2007
Funster No
MH
A Woosh bang
Hi

no reason why not.. such a conversion was undertaken by Steve of 'Marcle Leisure' .. (albeit was a larger van)

Extract..