Uprate weight, can now take clothes and food. (1 Viewer)

Bazzermc

Free Member
Feb 7, 2015
Wiltshire
Funster No
MH
Autotrail Cheyenne
Exp
I'm a newbie
Thought I would share my experience of uprating our MH:

Decided to take "Penny" to be weighed to ensure legal with all base stuff we wanted to carry (folding bikes, spare wheel, folding chairs, etc.), so had reference.
Bought digital hand scales and weighed everything we put in or took out.
Setup a spreadsheet so we could easily juggle things around.
With clothes, food and drink for short trip we were overweight, so had to dump the spare wheel......not happy about this, but safer to be legal.
Decided to give SvTech a call.......we have the additional air suspension fitted at rear, so could add 100 Kg to back axle with existing tyres, or 200Kg with higher loading tyres. Recently fitted new tyres and SvTech confirmed they would send uprated plate if we changed tyres in the future, so decided the 100 Kg would suffice.

We looked carefully at saving weight to stay in current limits, but decided we wanted to enjoy our travels and not be worrying about a few Kg's here and there.
(We have a garage behind the rear axle so rear axle weight was our limiting factor).

Paid our £312 to SvTech, next day new plate arrives and certificate to send to DVLA.
Spare wheel back in and we can now take the required clothes, food and booze to start our travels with peace of mind.

Hope this may help others and not bore you all to death.

Abacist

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 15, 2013
Devon
Funster No
MH
N & B Tag Axle
Exp
since 2013
I don't know what your gross weight was before your upgrade and if it was built to be 3,500 kilograms which is the only reason for manufacturers to plate at that weight providing that there is a reasonable load margin due to the licence restrictions.

In lots of cases however they seem to choose an arbitrary weight that is not one thing or another but makes it possible to do either:-