Feb 28, 2016
Southampton
Funster No
MH
Chausson 768XLB
Exp
I'm Intermediate
Hi All

I want to try and impart my experience to all you good people and hopefully save some heartache and perhaps you never know even someone’s life.

I am a retired Fleet Engineer who worked for Whitbread at Romsey in charge of all their HGV maintenance and repairs, also their forklifts we used to use sealant in all our vehicle front tyres.
I remember the sales chap coming in and showing me the video of a very large Army vehicle running over copious lines of boards with large nails sticking out of them and the sealant keeping the tyres sealed which was very impressive, so I decided that Whitbread Romsey would use the sealant. My family and me used to go caravanning way back when, we purchased an ABI Tristar single axle caravan the tyres looked as good as new but being in control of all Whitbreads vehicles and as we put tyre sealant in all our front tyres I also put sealant in my caravan tyres just because I could.

We were on the way to the bottom of France and on the motorway, when suddenly we herd what sounded like a Tommy gun going off, it was the sealant trying to seal the caravan tyre.

Amazingly I was able to bring the unit to a normal stop with no trouble at all, no swaying or anything. We got out too investigate, to be confronted with a tyre which had what could only be described as a large split in it. I don’t know how that sealant allowed me to stop that vehicle with such control, but it did.

I know tyre companies frown on such sealant but to be honest I don’t think I would be here now if it wasn’t for that sealant, and I’m sure at the least the caravan would have turned over taking the car with it. It still makes me shudder at the thought of it and what could of happened to my family and me.

I replaced the wheel with the spare and gingerly and very slowly drove to the next services where I got them to replace all three tyres on the caravan.