Front or rear wheel drive and other things. (1 Viewer)

Mar 26, 2009
Yr Wyddgrug
Funster No
MH
Hymer B678DL
Exp
Since 2009
Hello again,

Time for a naive question - I have been looking at lots of motorhomes recently with the intention to buy very soon. I saw an Autosleeper Rienza that I really liked but it's just a bit too big for me to keep on my drive. It's kid brother the Ravenna looks like it could be just what I want (Well on paper anyway). However, it appears the Ravenna can be supplied on a Peugeot or Ford transit RWD chassis. Has anyone experience of either of these models? Which do you consider the better choice? What is the general concensus on front or rear wheel drive? The Ford model appears to have a slightly higher fuel consumption - is this common with the Ford engines?

Many thanks for any replies.

Regards

Phil Owen.

The Wallace

Free Member
Apr 3, 2009
Funster No
Hi Phil,
Although I have no experience of the vans you mention, I thought someone should say hello.
An overwhelming number of motorhomes are built on Sevel produced bases (Fiat, Pug ) and if you have been watching the forii over the past year or so you will see that there are a couple of problems with those vans. Converters use them because they are cheap and Fiat in particular have targeted the motorhome converters for a few years now.

Many owners have voiced concerns over using front wheel drive on anything other than tarmac. On the other hand RWD owners seldom get stuck on wet grass.
Do not believe people who trot out the trite saying that 'FWD becomes RWD' if you reverse!
It does not matter which way you are facing if you have driving wheels which are also required to steer - some people never master FWD off tarmac. Even the supporters of 'in reverse FWD is RWD' are stumped when they have a van which cannot be reversed without shaking itself to destruction.