Free Member
Jul 31, 2009
Clevedon, Bristol
Funster No
MH
RV
Exp
1 week (ahh)
Lol by that I mean a wind turbine. I was looking at the 12 volt webside (St Austell) and I saw a wind turbine battery charger thingimijig. Has anyone got one of these for their motorhome? it says you can use them to charge your MH batteries, but do you actually attach them to the van? so they charge as you go along? or stick them in the ground and hope for a breeze? I know! I know! but I am new to this MH business.

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007
Dark side of the moon
Funster No
Exp
Since 2005
only ever seen one and it appeared to be fixed to a bracket on the roof so it can be removed while travelling.

it will need a charge controller same as a solar panel.

sooner have a good solar panel though.

even gives a trickle charge when theres no sun......wind turbine wont if theres no wind.:Doh:

Snowbird

LIFE MEMBER
Apr 24, 2009
Liverpool.
Funster No
MH
Fifth wheel.
Exp
Since 11-05-2000
Hi,I tried one a few years ago,it was OK mounted high up on a boat but not very practical on a motorhome,unless you use it as a backup for solar panels.They nead a lot of wind to work and when they are working they are very noisy.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Douglas

Free Member
Aug 22, 2008
South Wales,
Funster No
Exp
6 years + 5 years in boat before that
I have used them when I was into sailing but far to noisy for a motor home.

Doug...

vwalan

Funster
Sep 23, 2008
roche cornwall
Funster No
MH
lynton5th wheel
Exp
since a child
the favourite is a rutland something or other , people who have them say they work. there was one on the roof of a bedford army truck here in cornwall. the bloke was pleased with it. i prefer solar .3x 80 watt, 700amp battery bank .works fine. cheers alan.

OP
OP
jomel

jomel

Free Member
Jul 31, 2009
Clevedon, Bristol
Funster No
MH
RV
Exp
1 week (ahh)