Charlies guide to Waxes. Sealants and Polishes. (1 Viewer)

Charlie

Free Member
May 16, 2015
Herefordshire / Worcestershire borders .
Funster No
MH
Auto Sleeper Kemerton.
Exp
Im a newbie
This question of wax keeps coming up time and time again. But many it seems are struggling separating what is a wax what is a sealant and what is a polish.

WAX.
This is a product that is usually a paste in a tin. It is used as a last stage product after polishing to protect and preserve the finish. It can be used straight onto surfaces with no preparation other than a deep clean. In short it protects and offers a degree of shine to the finishes.

SEALANTS.
Like wax its applied to protect. Sealants are usually liquid based and do exactly the same job as waxes. Very easy to apply and remove and popular to some.

POLISHES
Polishes are designed to cut and remove a degree of the actual surface. They do this with complex components within them. Some polishes are aggressive and cut fast. Some have low cut rates some are in between. Polishes are to restore and refine finishes but they offer ABSOLUTELY NO protection to the surfaces whatsoever.

Using a polish to do a protective job or a wax to restore and polish will serve NO purpose whatsoever.

It really is important to use the right type of product for the job.

The question has been asked many many times which is the best wax. Im offering my opinion here rather than cluttering up several other threads which will just get confusing.

Firstly lets consider what it is we are looking to achieve and of course protect.
Our vehicles in this case are Motor Homes. Of course they are very big ! So this means we want a long lasting wax. After all a wax of long durability means we apply less often. I quite like waxing but im gubbered if want to be waxing my Motor Home often its just to arduous. So I/We want a long durability wax which offers good solid protection for a long time.