LIFE MEMBER
Jul 10, 2008
Planet Zog
Funster No
MH
A woosh bang van
Exp
since 2008
Oh, and Specs cameras know if you are restricted to 60 - mate of mine was ticketed for doing 70 on A14 when he was restricted to 60. Ignorance was not accepted as an excuse......

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

DanielFord

Free Member
Jun 1, 2013
Funster No
What @DuxDeluxe said, and also be aware of weight restrictions. Particularly in France, where huge sections of motorway are 80kph for over 3.5t! A few countries in Europe do ban vehicles over 3.5t using the outside lane on a motorway, Belgium is one I believe.
Apart from those, we have never really had an issue, and really appreciate the extra room we get from a big van :D

As an addendum, if you are over 7.5t but have a speed limiter fitted, I was under the impression that you were permitted to use the outside lane!

Jabberwocky

Free Member
Aug 14, 2015
Yeovil
Funster No
MH
MWB coach build
Exp
I'm a newbie
Lane 3 of a 3 lane motorway has a 7.5 tonne weight limit.

If you are over 3.5 but below 7.5 and have a speed limiter fitted you are also banned from lane 3.

You can also not tow a trailer in lane 3

Lane 2 of a 2 lane motorway has no weight restriction. Although some local restriction apply in some areas.

DanielFord

Free Member
Jun 1, 2013
Funster No
Sorry @Jabberwocky I just looked up the road traffic act, turns out we are both wrong:

It is an offence to drive a vehicle in the outside lane of a motorway which is:

1. towing a trailer; or
  2. a goods vehicle with a maximum laden weight exceeding 7.5 tonnes; or
  3. a goods vehicle between 3.5 and 7.5 tonnes without a speedlimiter being fitted; or
  4. a passenger vehicle which can carry 8 or more passengers with a maximum laden weight exceeding 7.5 tonnes; or
  5. a passenger vehicle which can carry 8 or more passengers with a maximum laden weight between 3.5 and 7.5 tonnes without a speedlimiter being fitted.

DanielFord

Free Member
Jun 1, 2013
Funster No