Solo long term in a panel van? (1 Viewer)

MaidinDevon

LIFE MEMBER
Apr 23, 2011
Bromyard, Herefordshire, UK
Funster No
MH
Hymer B654
Exp
since 2010
Hi Everyone

Paul and I have been motorhoming together since 2010. We have separated, and so the latest van, an Americn RV has been sold. I love the life, and want to continue. However, really not sure what would be best, so hoping the wealth of knowledge on here can help me sort my thoughts out.

I work for myself as an agency worker. This means that I can be away from home for 3 - 6 months or more, during the week. In the past we have parked up on a convenient site, and commuted home at weekends, or gone off for a trip.

i think that good insulation is important. I need something very reliable, and easy to fix, if the fridge packs up, or i smash the awning. I do not want an enormous van, as I want to be able to wild camp, or pub car park around the UK.

I love Portugal, and want to get back down there next winter if possible.

I have a budget of approx 20k, although could stretch to 30k for theright van. I am heading off to the NEC at the end of the month for ideas.

i have looked at a Murvi, and love the layout, not sure how comfortable the bed is? However, they are a bit expensive, and I would have to make up a bed every night. Also, mozzies and biting insects love me, and so a mosquito net/blindover the door would be good. Where doMurvi owners stow thier waste water carrier, and hoses etc.

I also want solar, and decent payload. Does anyone have a view on the Hymer Excis, or Hobby with the narrow width (if you see what I mean.)

Should I get left hand drive, and import something. Could Terry build me a Murvi lite in budget? I don't want anlther Buerstner, we have had two. I am also buying a flat, so will have a base in the UK with parking for something 6m or so.

My head is spinning. I did look at a Carthago Malibu,(not that I can afford one) but the German fixed beds all seem a bit cramped in the lounge area.