Ferry or tunnel?? (1 Viewer)

Mar 29, 2015
Darlington
Funster No
MH
Hymer
Exp
I'm a newbie
in June we will be taking our first trip abroad in the Moho and travelling to France. I'm depending on you lovely people to keep us right as we are literally clueless! So firstly what do you recommend ferry or tunnel?? Not much difference in price, I've looked at booking through the caravan club?? Any advice would be much appreciated :merci:

D

Deleted member 29692

Deleted User
We use the tunnel every time. Never even consider the ferry and I can't see that we ever will.

The main reason for us is that the dogs can stay with us for the duration of the journey.

The other benefits in my opinion:

As you say the difference is price is minimal. Even if it wasn't IMO the tunnel is worth a premium.
It's much quicker - 35 minutes as opposed to roughly 90 minutes for the quickest ferry
It's much more flexible. You book for a specific train time but if you turn up early are offered the next available train and are only charged if it would have been a more expensive crossing when you booked. You can turn up late as well I believe but we've never tried that out!

The cheapest way of booking the tunnel is using Tesco Clubcard vouchers. £10 worth of vouchers is worth £30 on the tunnel.

Upvote 0
May 16, 2014
Ammanford
Funster No
MH
Dethleffs Trend
Exp
since May 2014
We've done both with the motorhome and (previously) with car and caravan. The tunnel is great because you can sit in your van, read a book, have a (cold) drink or whatever you want and there is none of that jostling around at dis-embarkation time - all drivers are already there and you simply wait for the one in front to move off.

If you are travelling with a pet (dog etc) it also has the distinct advantage that you do not need to leave them alone in the car.