what vehicle (1 Viewer)

S

sean

Deleted User
im thinking about buying a 5th wheel caravan next year . first i would like to get a vehicle suitable to tow it . thinking of getting a toyota hilux invinsible which is 3ltr turbo diesel . a friend says a nissan navaro is a lot cheaper to buy and will do the job and you can even have an engine chip upgrade . another friend says get a mitsubishi l200 . is 3ltr better than 2.5 . could someone with experience ie been there done that offer me some advice . the 5th wheel trailer would be an amerilite i think about 24 ft . im sure this question has been asked many times but im new to this . thanks sean

Last edited by a moderator:

zaskar

Free Member
Sep 25, 2007
UK
Funster No
MH
5th Wheel
Exp
30+
im thinking about buying a 5th wheel caravan next year . first i would like to get a vehicle suitable to tow it . thinking of getting a toyota hilux invinsible which is 3ltr turbo diesel . a friend says a nissan navaro is a lot cheaper to buy and will do the job and you can even have an engine chip upgrade . another friend says get a mitsubishi l200 . is 3ltr better than 2.5 . could someone with experience ie been there done that offer me some advice . the 5th wheel trailer would be an amerilite i think about 24 ft .

You first need to decide which 5ver you want. There are very few which will be suitable for a Euro pick up to tow, and even then, from my limited experience so far, I would sugest that if you are planning major milage or a European tour, you should seriously consider a Yank pickup. The engine wont have to work as hard and you will get a good a consumption figure (depending on 5ver size and driving style). I got 14.6mpg at a steady 58mph when we bought our KountryLite back from Scotland to Cheshire. Having said that, 1. my engine is still very tight with just 10K on the clock
2. My 08 D40 Euro 4 spec engine is not as economical as the earlier Euro 3 spec engine as its pretty strangled due to emissions.