Polarity reverser - home made. (2 Viewers)

savantuk

Free Member
Jul 3, 2009
Cumbria, Lake district UK
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
30 years.
I'm a newbie, so I cant tell if this tip has been used before here, but I've found it so useful, so others may too.

Quite often on the continent, I've plugged in to the on site electrics, only to find the polarity warning light on the consume unit turning red:(

Last year, I decided to make a polarity reverser. I purchased a waterproof cable connector from a chandler in Honfleur, France, together with a rugby ball shaped cover which is 2 parts, which snap together forming a waterproof seal at both sides of the cable joint, and which completely protects the connector.

The connector (2 pin) is completely symmetrical, allowing it to change the polarity just by turning one end through 180 degrees. I have marked both ends with a -/+ indicator.

Lining up both sides at the +/+ position gives normal polarity feed, but if the polarity warning light comes on, lining up the +/- sighns automatically reverses the polarity.

Cheap but effective!

Doug

Dec 23, 2007
Wirral
Funster No
MH
Hobby Van Kenobi
Exp
started when I was 11 with my parents-forgot to stop!been real one since 1980!
Just make up a Short lead with the blue plug and sockets and reverse live and neutral.
The rugby balls hinges wear in no time and they are not completly water proof.

S

sinbad1

Deleted User
i made one of these a while ago

Link Removed

simply made from a male and female connector with + reversed ,caps ends removed with a short pipe to join them up.( no bigger than a single plug

Not had to use it yet ;but tested and works fine

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Last edited by a moderator:

peter marshall

Free Member
Mar 5, 2009
Cleveleys,Lancashire
Funster No
MH
Low Line
Exp
9 Years