Alloy wheels (1 Viewer)

Dec 9, 2013
Derbyshire
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
Since 2005
My motor home has alloy wheels, my spare has steel. In the event of a puncture and I had to use the spare could the wheel nuts from the alloy wheels be used. Thanks for any input.

DanielFord

Free Member
Jun 1, 2013
Funster No
I think you are supposed to use the spare as exactly that, ie get a puncture, put steel on, and then repair the alloy one and re-fit it. A bit like a space saver, only the correct size.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Violet1

Free Member
Jul 4, 2015
March, Cambs
Funster No
MH
semi-integrated
Exp
i'm a newbie
As above poster, tyre will be correct size etc wheel nuts will fit but change back to alloy as soon as poss. And keep spare as spare, had same thing on skoda

Sep 26, 2013
Market Rasen
Funster No
MH
Self Build
Exp
Since 2003
Do not assume that the wheel bolts from the Alloy wheels can be used for the steel spare. On a Fiat based Burster we had the ones used for the Alloy wheels were too long for the steel spare as I found out in Germany. I had to buy different ones to allow the spare to be used.

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007
Dark side of the moon
Funster No
Exp
Since 2005
One thing be aware of if you have 'blind' locking nuts.

When using the steel spare wheel the nuts may tighten onto the end of the thread before tightening onto the wheel.
I pushed the end off one locking nut while torqueing a steel space saver because it tighten to the stud before the wheel.

Deleted User
On our hymer caravan the wheel studs are different lengths, different profiles and different hex socket size. Is there nothing in the manual, I would think the results could be catastrophic if the wrong studs/nuts are used.

OP
OP
albial
Dec 9, 2013
Derbyshire
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
Since 2005
Hi thanks for your reply. My motor home is on a ford base so I will play safe and get wheel nuts for the spare.
Thanks. Albial

Jaws

LIFE MEMBER
Sep 26, 2008