Battery monitors... (1 Viewer)

Charlie

Free Member
May 16, 2015
Herefordshire / Worcestershire borders .
Funster No
MH
Auto Sleeper Kemerton.
Exp
Im a newbie
On the sergeant control panel in our MH there is a button we can press that shows the remaining charge left in the vehicle battery or the leisure battery .. But it's basic to say the least. Not sure I would trust it to be honest.

So I'm thinking along the lines of either a battery monitor for just the leisure battery or one for each battery.

How easy are these things to wire ? Is it just a simple wire to each terminal on the battery up to the monitor display or is there more to it ?

Cheers

May 29, 2013
Tyneside
Funster No
MH
Chausson best of Flash 10
Exp
Several years now
As you say, two wires from simple digital voltmeter one to each terminal, but you want a very low current fuse in the positive line right on the terminal

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007
Dark side of the moon
Funster No
Exp
Since 2005
Monitors such as the NASA BM1 require a 100amp shunt on the battery but it still only calculates from a known capacity and voltage in much the same way as the sergeant unit.
The difference being it will show you in real time what current (amps) is being drawn and replaced at any give time.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

andy63

Free Member
Jan 19, 2014
south shields
Funster No
MH
None
Exp
since 1990
The Stirling monitor shown in the first photo..would be capable of doing what you want... you would need a shunt for each battery bank you want to monitor for current and the amp hour function is only available on one circuit. ...There is no estimating and inputting the battery bank capacity... simply start off from fully charged batteries and a zero reading on the amp hr's.
20151112_122407.jpg